Alex Nicholis Coon – DeHoff Emerging Philanthropist 2020 Award Winner

DeHoff Emerging Philanthropist Award will be presented to Alex Nicholis Coon. Alex partners with the Soroptimist International of Canton/Stark County and chairs the Celebration of Women. Recently, she helped connect the Massillon Purse Project with DVPI and Soroptimist, and assisted with planning and executing the Clothing Swap in conjunction with Soroptimist and PATHS, to shed light on human trafficking in the clothing industry. Her awards/honors include Past Board President, Vice President, and Secretary and Ohio Museums; Cleveland Print Room Board Member; Board Trustee and Secretary of Visit Canton; Board Member of Lighthouse Visions; Soroptimist International: District IV Secretary of Midwestern Region and Past President of Canton/Stark County.

“Alex has always been committed to giving back,” says her nominator, Courtney Johnson-Benson. “She has been an advocate for the arts, education, women, and girls in Stark County for over a decade. Her work with the Massillon Museum in creating accessible education-based events and a sensory room for families has demonstrated her passion for making art accessible for all. Access for all drives Alex to further her reach in our community.”

DeHoff Emerging Philanthropist Award was established in 2010 by Bob and Linda DeHoff to recognize a Stark County resident age 45 and under who impacts Stark County through direct service and volunteer work. The recipient receives $5,000 to be donated to a health and human service 501(c)(3) organization of choice. Alex Nicholis Coon is the 2020 award winner.